FILive: The Future of UX: Killing the Wireframe Machine

I’m still trying to catch up on my notes.  This session was presented by Lis Hubert, a UX consultant whose perspective I’ve appreciated over the years.  The subject of how to effectively weave UX into a project is very relevant to my current job, so I was keen to hear her perspective.  Realize this was a 55 minute session.

Lis HubertLis is a good speaker.  This was as polished as most keynotes.  It followed the whole tell me what you’re going to tell me, tell me, tell me what you told me model of presenting.

In Lis’s opinion, a UX person needs to know these:

  • User needs
  • Business needs
  • Technology abilities
  • Mix in a good portion of empathy

To me, that seems like a pretty tall order to find in one individual.  At least in my company…

Lis made the point that UX and User Interface isn’t the same thing.  The UI is definitely a piece, but not the whole.  See Erik Flowers’ article : UI is not UX for more insight on this.

We are in the “age of experience”. Jared M. Spool’s  Dawning of the Age of Experience on slideshare looks like a good resource.

Much of the premise of the talk revolved around the problems with doing UX in a closed system with no external inputs.  That seems like a no-brainer to me, but I gather this is a common practice.  So how do you fix this closed loop mentality?  Just include user studies? Usability? A/B testing?  I’d guess all would help.

As a final takeaway, I was left with a nagging question: What’s the diff between what she’s mentioning and a Business Analyst role?  Part of the reason for my question is that internally at my company we seem to use the two interchangeably except for the User Interface design portion, which is sometimes delegated to a UI developer if the UX/BA person doesn’t have that skill.  I’m still a little confused on this part.

2 thoughts on “FILive: The Future of UX: Killing the Wireframe Machine

Leave a Reply

